eHarmony Updates Me On People I Don’t Want

Posted By Debbie on November 17, 2011

Categories: UX/UI

Tags: dating, eHarmony, online dating

Oh, eHarmony. I wish you were hiring for a UX person. I find your site so frustrating. Today, let’s take a look at my home dashboard sort-of page. This is what I see after I log in. Well, it’s mainly what I see. There’s top and bottom stuff, and a pile of crap in a left column. But this is the main area. Click to enlarge:

So they’re put in some sort of activity stream. That’s common. But what’s interesting about this is that every guy they are showing me is a match I “closed.” That means that either at first glance or at some point during the “communication,” I decided I wasn’t interested in this guy, and clicked a button to “close this match.” Anything I was showing up as for that guy then gets archived. So that’s it. No dice, baby. Not gonna happen.

Then why show me updates from these guys? I’m sure I don’t want them. I’ve done the equivalent of blocking them. I don’t want to communicate with them. I’ve made my lack of interest clear. If I were communicating with these guys, and therefore showing interest, I can imagine them showing up in my stream. However, I’m not interested. They shouldn’t be in my stream.